Thoughts On Justice

gavelJustice Is Stacked ~

Last night shock filled the airwaves as the verdict in the George Zimmerman trial was announced. Not Guilty.

Those that were pleased, were still shocked. But those that were distraught perhaps were even more so. I’m not Black or African American. I don’t even know what the politically correct label is these days. I do know, this situation hits each community differently and neither can truly understand how or why the other side feels the way they do.

I will never know what it’s like for a man to be watched in a store, or how it feels to watch other people lock their car doors because I’m walking down the street. As a white woman, I’m privileged to some degree when it comes to trust and perceived acceptance. It’s not until I speak or react to something that others get an idea that I might have views that they don’t agree with.

While I may face similar discrimination that other women face from other races or cultures, there are some events I will never understand. I will never know what it’s like for a black woman, or woman from the middle-east who face discrimination that I will never be presented with.

But what bothers me most about this case is that it should be clear to even the least observant individual that there’s a great double standard in the United States when it comes to race and the Justice system. I can’t help but think that if Trayvon Martin had been white, George Zimmerman would have been found guilty.


VR-Hanko ~ All Rights Reserved ©

 © 2013 Victoria’s Rose ~ All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply

