Thoughts – Don’t Re-Heat The Coffee

onions-peppersA Random Thought About Odors ~

Ever wake up in the morning because someone got up early and fixed breakfast? That wonderful smell of bacon lofting through the air until it reaches your nose. You awake under warm covers and take in a deep breath, as memories from your childhood rush into thoughts.

My Dad would get up on Sunday mornings while my Mom slept in and cook breakfast. He’d make bacon, scrambled eggs and pancakes. Or country biscuits and sausage gravy with fried eggs.

My favorite was bacon, eggs and hash-browns.  It would always smell so good! And as we (my sisters and I) got older, those Sunday Morning family breakfasts were about the only time we all ate at the same time and in the same place. We’d laugh, talk about what we were going to do that day, Mom would talk about the gossip of the week and it was fun. Good memories from a dysfunctional family. We barely talk to each other today.

But this morning? Yeah…it wasn’t like that! This smells like onions, peppers and I don’t know what else.

I haven’t slept since last Friday night. Stress and anxiety mostly. An aching back from injuries suffered in my teens hasn’t helped either. Until last night when I finally crashed hard. All those nights of insomnia finally catching up and putting me out like a light. But here I am, awake and up before the sun rise because something the Man cooked this morning stinks! Well it doesn’t so much stink as it doesn’t smell very well to me. Ok..no…it stinks!

And now that I’m up, I still have no idea what it is. I like onions, and there’s a definite sautéed onion odor. But we have no onions so it can’t be that. We don’t have much of anything left in the house as far as food goes. Hard to cook up breakfast when you haven’t had a paycheck forever.

I finally asked what did you cook this morning? Turns out he re-heated the coffee from yesterday that was left in the pot. How in the world could that stink up the house?!


VR-Hanko ~ All Rights Reserved ©

 © 2013 Victoria’s Rose ~ All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply

