Letters – Samhain Night

Letters To Myself๐Ÿ“ช Letters To Myself ~

Samhain (pronounced Sow-ween in gaelic) is celebrated as the Celtic New Year. The word itself means Summer’s End and it’s the holiday the early Christians based their celebration of All Saint’s Day from.

For my family Samhain is the time for putting the past behind you. It’s the time for giving honor to our loved ones who are no longer with us. And it’s the night to look to the future, set plans and make a commitment to one’s future path.

A couple of weeks ago I was dwelling in the anger and frustration of this stupid “Great Depression” and the struggles it has placed on my family. Today I’m planning a special ritual for Samhain Night to put forth the energy and emphasis on turning things around for us!

This week we were able to pay the mortgage. A red letter day for this household. We were also able to cover the electric bill. At least we can stay out of the rain and cold for another month. The Man keeps telling me he sold another job. Great, where’s the money? Yeah, he gets upset with me when I ask that. But when you have a grand total of .46ยข in your checking account it’s hard to be excited about something that won’t benefit you for another 30days.

I’m glad he has increased sales. It might mean we’ll be able to get through Yule in December much better than we have in the past. But Thanksgiving is still highly up in the air. Meanwhile, his brother is taking his family out to Fall Festivals and acquiring costumes for their Halloween celebration. But hey, the Man doesn’t think his brother is screwing him over. Really? How much more evidence do you need?

I wanted to take our son to the county fall festival. We couldn’t go. We don’t have the money to get in, nor do we have the gas to get there and back. So we spent our weekend sitting here at home. At least I got the laundry done for the week. Got the carpet vacuumed. Thanks to that last “payday” we were able to pick up some frozen dinners for the week. Including a roast that I plopped in the crock-pot. That at least made 4 meals, plus at least one more that I put in the freezer. Not to mention the 3lunches of grilled-cheese with beef. Man those sandwiches were good!

All in all, it’s been a better end of the week. But it’s hard not to let go of the struggle when we’re still behind on many things. And we still can’t pick up my prescriptions. Not a good thing when you’re a diabetic who has heart palpitations. And I’m still getting rejection after rejection for getting a job. Even Wal-Mart has cut back on hiring the over50 crowd. Have you seen any of those old retiree door greeters lately? I haven’t.

My “mother-in-law” shared an AARP article on FB about the recent increase of Age Discrimination. Over50s are ignored, rejected and not given opportunities in employment today more than any other group. Yeah. I didn’t need a study to tell me that. I am over50. I’m smart, I know stuff, I have decades of experience at two of the top Forbes50 companies and a year at a top200 retail company. It’s not my fault that last company went bankrupt. But I sure am suffering the consequences.

The relief of paying the mortgage for the month took so much stress and anxiety off my shoulders that it makes this note to myself a much better one than usual. I’m glad he sold a bigย job and I’m glad he sold more work this month. It’s something I can focus on for this year’s Samhain ritual on. Maybe we can manifest more success and increased abundance from here on out. I hope so. I’m really ready for this to be over!

~ Victoria Lynn


VR-Hanko ~ All Rights Reserved ยฉ

ย ยฉ 2013ย Victoria’s Rose ~ All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply

